+233 547 992 109, +233 302 665 951 | info@aywma.gov.gh | GA-160-8880

AWMA Extends Support to Traditional Authorities Towards the Homowo Festival


On Friday 25th August 2023 the Ayawaso West Municipal Assembly extended its unwavering support to the forthcoming 2023 Homowo Festival, presenting essential items to Traditional Authorities within the Municipality at the Assembly’s Office at Dzorwulu.

The items presented included bags of maize, onions, gallons of palm oil, cartons of bottled water, customary alcoholic beverages, and money were presented to the La Bawaleshie, Shiashie, Okponglo, Mempeasem, and Abokyeman traditional councils.

The Municipal Chief Executive, Hon. Sandra Owusu-Ahinkorah delivered the essence of the Assembly's gesture, emphasizing the significance of tradition and togetherness.

"We must strengthen the essence of our culture as stewards of our history. Our common ideals and heritage are embodied in the Homowo Festival", Hon. Owusu-Ahinkorah expressed during the presentation.

“The Assembly's involvement in the Homowo celebrations spans back to its establishment in 2018, and will continue to be, an active participant in preserving our cultural tapestry," she added.

The MCE also echoed the need for collective responsibility and communal reflection during the celebration. " While we joyfully rejoice, let's also look out for one another. Now is the time for our energies to merge with the spirit of our community.  As we revel in the festivities, let's also remember the Assembly and the entire country in our prayers" said the MCE.

Accepting the items on behalf of the Traditional Authorities, the Presiding Member, Hon. Benjamin Oklah, extended his gratitude to the assembly. "With open hearts, we receive these invaluable gifts from the assembly. This thoughtful gesture shows the Assembly's dedication to preserving the essence of our heritage" Hon. Oklah expressed

The ceremony witnessed the presence of the Municipal Coordinating Director, Mr. Bernard K.P. Sakyiama, Assembly member for Abelenkpe, Hon. Teddy Baidoo, Government appointee, Hon. Memunatu Malik, and staff of the Assembly.